Returning starters key for Centerpoint state title push

returning
Centerpoint quarterback Josh Lawson. Photo courtesy of Paul Shepard

The Centerpoint Knights have an advantage over other opponents in the 3A conference in 2021: returning starters.

One of the key places where the Knights have experience coming back for another season is at quarterback. Josh Lawson, the 6-5, 180-pound field general, is coming back for his third year leading Centerpoint. Lawson threw for 27 touchdowns and picked up another six on the ground.

The Knights also have another returning starter to catalyze the passing game in senior Dillon Fox, who caught four touchdown passes last year. Senior C.J. Fox caught eight touchdown passes for the Knights in 2020. Senior running back Carlos Ponce provides experience and juice on the ground. Protecting the quarterback is Garrett Alexander, another senior, whose college fate may lie in Arkadelphia, but that is up to Ouachita Baptist and Henderson State to sort out.

Dathan Vaught led the Knights with 72 tackles and is a returning senior who can provide leadership on the defense.

http://www.30burger.com/

SCHEDULE

Fri., Aug. 27 — vs. Hampton — 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 3 — OPEN DATE

Fri., Sept. 10 — at Benton Harmony Grove — 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 17 — OPEN DATE

Fri., Sept. 24 — at Fouke* — 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 1 — vs. Horatio* — 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 8 — at Prescott* — 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 15 — vs. Jessieville* — 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 22 — vs. Glen Rose* — 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 29 — at Genoa Central* — 7:00 p.m.

 

*3A conference game