Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list includes a Hog and an Aggie

Earl Campbell

Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award announced its watch list Tuesday, and Texas A&M quarterback Kellen Mond and Arkansas Razorbacks running back Rakeem Boyd were named to the list.

Mond scored over 30 touchdowns last season. The junior quarterback from San Antonio finished fourth in total offense, fifth in touchdown passes, and sixth in passing yardage in the Southeastern Conference.

Boyd posted a team-high 734 rushing yards on 123 carries a year ago. Averaging 6.0 yards per carry with 61.2 per game, the running back from Houston led the team with 899 all-purpose yards. Boyd had three games of 100-plus rushing yards, all in SEC play, last year with a season-high 113 versus Vanderbilt. In addition to the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list, Boyd has been named to the Doak Walker Award watch list along with teammate Devwah Whaley.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is given to the top offensive player in Division I football who shows the longstanding traits that embody Earl Campbell, according to the award committee: “Integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically, tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.”

To qualify for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, a player must either be born in Texas, graduated from a Texas high school, and/or played at a junior college or four-year college in Texas.